'Celtic Fields' – Archaeology's stepchildren
Traces of prehistoric farming in Western, Central, Eastern and Northern Europe: Overlapping and Sequences

Even if any direct dating exists, one can often place traces in laser data in a time reference to other traces, i.e. decide what is earlier and what is later. This applies quite banally to the countless modern traces: No one will be surprised if modern forest roads or motorways cut through the 'Celtic Fields' or if they end abruptly with cut plots at the present-day, mostly modern forest edge. It can be more interesting and revealing when several prehistoric or medieval tracks overlap or intersect. Here are a few examples:

'Celtic Fields' and Roman Roads/LimesDifferent 'Celtic Fields' intersecting 'Celtic Fields' and Ridge-and-Furrow Fields'Celtic Fields' and Longstrip Fields'Celtic Fields' and Fortifications'Celtic Fields' and Ancient Roads'Celtic Fields' and Mining Traces 'Celtic Fields' and Tumuli

Unfortunately, I am not aware of any examples of intersections of ridge-and-furrow beds and long strip fields, as these types of fields are largely mutually exclusive in their distribution. However, I have not systematically searched for them.


Back © Volker Arnold 2022

'Celtic Fields' – Stiefkinder der Archäologie
Spuren urgeschichtlicher Beackerung in West-, Mittel- Ost- und Nordeuropa: Überschneidungen und Abfolgen

Selbst wenn man keinerlei direkten Datierungen hat, kann man vielfach Spuren in Laserdaten zu anderen Spuren in einen Zeitbezug setzen, also entscheiden, was früher und was später ist. Ganz banal gilt das für die zahllosen modernen Spuren: Niemand wird es wundern, wenn moderne Forstwege oder Autobahnen die 'Celtic Fields' durchschneiden oder wenn sie mit angeschnittenen Parzellen am heutigen, meistens neuzeitlichen Waldrand abrupt enden. Interessanter und aufschlussreicher kann es sein, wenn mehrere urgeschichtliche oder mittelalterliche Spuren sich überlappen oder überschneiden. Dazu ein paar Beispiele:

'Celtic Fields' und Römerstraßen/Limes Überlappung verschiedenartiger 'Celtic Fields' 'Celtic Fields' und Wölbbeetfluren 'Celtic Fields' und Langstreifenfluren 'Celtic Fields' und Befestigungen 'Celtic Fields' und Altwege 'Celtic Fields' und Bergbauspuren 'Celtic Fields' und Grabhügel

Leider sind mir keine Beispiele von Überschneidungen von Wölbbeet- und Streifenfluren bekannt, da sich diese Flurformen in ihrere Verbreitung weitestgehend ausschließen. Ich habe allerdings auch nicht systematisch danach gesucht.


Zurück © Volker Arnold 2019